Tokyo Dawn Records – The Nature Volume 1

'The Nature' represents an antipodean landscape of Australian voices. A melting pot of sultry depictions, deep embraces from beyond and reflections locked in the groove. The landscape vast, the influences many, but the common ground being a unity exemplified by the soul.

DRMNGNOW opens things up with some food for thought in the form of ‘Australia Does Not Exist’ featuring Adrian Eagle. Natalie Slade follows with haunting ‘Humidity’ produced by Simon Mavin from Hiatus Kaiyote. Representing Adelaide, Eliza Dickson touches on the topic of ‘Gold’, outlining her artistic journey and the struggles of expression every artist faces. Ruru then effortlessly glides over Lord Finesse style production from Funkwig on ‘Ether’, an introspective outer space journey looking deep into the soul, followed by Inkswel's tropical mix of 'The Master Plan' from Melbourne Hip Hop duo Man Made Mountain.

Australian-residing Jamaican Soul legend Spikey Tee steps forth with the Jim Dunloop produced ‘Sweet Nothings’, offering a teaser for his forthcoming TDR album. Tokyo Dawn regulars Planetself then provide their hit ‘You Plus Me’, one part Bossanova soul groover, two parts love song.

Sydney boys il Combo step up next with their blues-tingled pearler ‘Throw Me A Line’, think Shuggie Otis meets D’Angelo. Melbourne up and comers Belove round things in the middle with their song ‘Slippin’, a smooth spacey tune reminiscent of Tom Misch and Jordan Rakei, but equally unique and original. Up and coming free jazz/soul band Lander follow with their encapsulating track ‘Zurs’ featuring 30/70 leader Allysha Joy on vocals, truly reflecting the bubbling Melbourne soul scene.

Legendary MC N’fa Jones, who previously appeared on Planetself’s TDR release High Tide, contributes two songs to 'The Nature'. His soul shaking band Cool Out Sun touches down with the beautiful family ode ‘Plabba’. Alongside this an unearthed gem from his group Dreamkatchers provides an unforgotten vibe from legendary beat smith Kev Brown.

Plantself front woman Charli Umami chimes in now with Melbourne producer Jus on the track ‘Water Used 2 Run’, a beautiful sultry and introspective tune about womanhood and freedom of expression. Well established beatsmith Silent Titan takes over with ‘Out of Sight’ featuring neo soul singer Jace XL, a beautiful ballad touching on love and relationships backed by Titan's futuristic soul production. Closing things out, Paul Gorrie, a Gunai/Kurnai Yorta-Yorta singer and activist provides his love song 'Infinite / Limitless'.

Copyright © 2019 Tokyo Dawn Records
Label catalogue index: TDR19-003
Release date: June 17th 2019
All rights reserved

A&R by Jules Habib & Marc Wallowy
Design by Matt Lyon
Mastering by Jan Ohlhorst


Show Classic Player
All prices include VAT where applicable.
More shops: